RESOLUTION OF THE MANITOBA METIS FEDERATION CABINET

To Amend the MMF Election By-Law with Respect to the Chief Electoral Officer Appointment

WHEREAS the MMF established a committee to review the MMF Constitution, Local By-Law and Election By-Law under the direction of the Ministers responsible for the Constitution, Natural Resources & Citizenship, and Justice;

AND WHEREAS the committee also involved staff, legal counsel, and the MMF Chief Electoral Officer;

AND WHEREAS the MMF Cabinet has received recommendations from the committee with respect to the appropriate amendments to the MMF Constitution, Local By-Law and Election By-Law;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE MANITOBA METIS FEDERATION CABINET ADOPTS AND APPROVES THE FOLLOWING RESOLUTION TO AMEND THE MMF ELECTION BY-LAW WHICH SHALL BE PRESENTED AT THE NEXT ANNUAL GENERAL ASSEMBLY:

Article III 1. and Article III 3.(b) of the MMF Election By-Law which states:

1. The Board of Directors of MMF shall appoint a person to serve as Chief Electoral Officer for each election. The person so appointed shall also have the responsibility to conduct any necessary by-elections while his/her appointment remains in effect.

...

3. The duties and powers of the Chief Electoral Officer shall include but not be limited to:

•••

(b) Appointing a Deputy Chief Electoral Officer and all Deputy Returning Officers and Poll Clerks.

Are hereby deleted and the following is therefore substituted:

 The Board of Directors of the MMF shall appoint a person to serve as the Chief Electoral Officer for a fixed term. The person so appointed shall also have the responsibility to conduct any necessary elections or by-elections while their appointment remains in effect.

• • •

3. The duties and powers of the Chief Electoral Officer shall include but not be limited to:

...

(b) Appointing such election officials as are necessary to conduct the business of the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer including Regional Returning Officers, Deputy Returning Officers, and Poll Clerks.

Moved By:Minister Judy MayerSeconded By:Minister Leah LaPlante

Date: March 27, 2021